Three more former cricketers added to ICC Hall of Fame


Photo: ICC

Dubai: The ICC has included three more legends in the Hall of Fame. The International Cricket Council announced on Monday to include three more new cricketers in the ICC Hall of Fame, including India’s legendary batsman Virender Sehwag, Sri Lankan super star Aravinda de Silva and former captain of the Indian women’s team Diana Edulji. All three cricketers will be honored during the semi-final of the World Cup 2023 to be held at the Wankhede Stadium between India and New Zealand. All three former cricketers thanked the ICC and the JVC for being included in the ICC Hall of Fame.

India’s former aggressive opening batsman Virender Sehwag participated in 104 Tests, 251 ODIs and 19 T20 international matches during his international career. He scored two triple centuries in Test cricket and also scored a splendid double century in ODI cricket.

Sri Lanka’s former star cricketer Aravinda de Silva represented his country in 93 Test and 308 ODI internationals. He was considered the best player of the winning team of the 1996 World Cup. He played his best innings of 107 runs in the final match against Australia and also took 3 important wickets.

Diana Edulji is the first Indian woman cricketer to be included in the Hall of Fame. She is the third highest female bowler in the world to take the most wickets in women’s Test cricket. Edulji played 54 matches for India over three decades, making a name for herself as a slow left-arm orthodox spinner, taking more than 100 wickets for her country.

It should be remembered that former Pakistani cricketers Abdul Qadir, Zaheer Abbas, Javed Miandad, Imran Khan, Hanif Mohammad, Waqar Younis and Waseem Akram have also been included in the ICC Hall of Fame.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here