Pakistan Levels the Series by Beating New Zealand in the Fifth T20


Photo: Getty Images

Lahore: In the last T20 match of the series consisting of five matches, Pakistan defeated New Zealand by 9 runs.

In the match played at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore, Pakistan set a target of 179 runs and the entire Kiwi team was bowled out for 169 runs in 19.2 overs.

After Pakistan’s success in the fifth and final match, the series ended in a draw at 2-2, as one match was abandoned due to rain.

From New Zealand, Tom Seifert scored 52 runs and Josh Clarkson scored 38 runs, while Michael Bracewell made 23, James Neesham 16, and Mark Chapman 12 runs, without any Kiwi batsman entering double figures.

On the Pakistan side, Shaheen Afridi took 4 wickets while Usman Khan took 2, and Shadab Khan and Imad Wasim each took one wicket.

Before the match, New Zealand captain Michael Bracewell won the toss and chose to field first as Pakistan scored 178 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in the stipulated overs.

Babar Azam played a brilliant innings of 69 runs, while Fakhar Zaman scored 43 and Usman Khan 31 runs.

Mohammad Rizwan scored 6 runs and Saif Badar scored one run, while Shadab Khan remained not out with 15 runs and Imad Wasim with 4 runs.

From New Zealand, James Neesham, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, William Worku and Zakary Volks each took one wicket.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (Captain), Saif Badar, Usman Khan (Wicketkeeper), Fakhar Zaman, Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Muhammad Aamir

New Zealand: Michael Bracewell (Captain), Tom Blundell, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Zak Fox, Kyle McCoy, James Neesham, Will Over way, Ben Sears, Tom Seifert (Wicketkeeper), Ish Sodhi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here