India General Election 2024 Phase 3: Voters and Key Issues | Latest Updates on India 2024 Elections


Millions of Indian voters are set to head to the polls on May 7 for the third phase of the seven-phase election. Key contenders in this phase include Home Affairs Minister Amit Shah from Gandhinagar, Civil Aviation and Steel Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna, and perfume baron Badruddin Ajmal from Dhubri.

This phase will see 1,351 candidates vying for 94 seats in the Lok Sabha across 12 states and union territories. Among the states participating are Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Assam, Karnataka, Maharashtra, and West Bengal.

Gandhinagar has been a stronghold for the BJP, with leaders like Lal Krishna Advani and Atal Bihari Vajpayee representing the constituency in the past. Scindia, a former Congress member who recently joined the BJP, is contesting from Guna, a seat traditionally held by his family. Ajmal, known for his perfume brand, is seeking reelection from Dhubri.

Voting will take place from 7am to 6pm, with results expected to be announced on June 4. The BJP currently governs several states participating in this phase, while opposition parties like the Congress hold power in others. So far, the BJP has won the majority of seats in the Lok Sabha from the 2019 elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here