Parliamentary Committee’s Session Ends without Consensus


The first session of the parliamentary committee tasked with finalizing the caretaker Chief Minister (CM) was inconclusive, as no agreement could be reached on a name.

Sources have revealed that another session of the parliamentary committee has been scheduled for 2:00 pm today. If a consensus is not reached during this session, the matter will be referred to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) for further action.

Earlier, the Speaker of the Balochistan Assembly issued a notification for the important session of the parliamentary committee aimed at selecting the caretaker CM.

The six-member parliamentary committee consists of outgoing CM Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, Zamrak Achakzai, and Sardar Abdul Rehman Khetran from the government side, and Abdul Wahid Siddiqui, Younus Zehri, and Ahmed Nawaz representing the opposition.

The nominations for the caretaker Balochistan CM’s position include Ali Mardan Domki, Mir Usman Badini, Mir Naseer Bizenjo, and Ali Hassan Zehri.

From the side of the chief minister, Mir Naseer Bizenjo and Ali Hassan Zehri were recommended to the committee, while the opposition leader proposed Ali Mardan Domki and Usman Badini.

On Wednesday, a parliamentary committee was assigned the task of selecting the caretaker CM for Balochistan after the government and opposition failed to reach an agreement. According to the law, a decision had to be made within three days of the dissolution of the provincial assembly, and Tuesday marked the deadline for finalizing a name.

The Chief Minister of Balochistan, Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, and the Leader of the Opposition, Malik Sikandar, had proposed Mir Ali Mardan Khan Domki’s name as the interim chief minister.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here