Nomination papers of Nawaz, Zardari, and Maryam approved


The ongoing scrutiny of the nomination papers for the general elections 2024 has seen the approval of prominent leaders’ papers, as well as the rejection of many others.

Nawaz Sharif’s nomination papers for NA 130 (Lahore) have been accepted, with no objection filed. Maryam Nawaz’s papers were approved for a provincial constituency, but objections were raised for the National Assembly seat.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) also approved Asif Ali Zardari’s nomination papers for NA 207 (Nawabshah).

However, nomination papers for several Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leaders, including Yasmin Rashid, Hammad Azhar, Asad Qaiser, Shehram Tarakai, Ali Muhammad Khan, and Qasim Khan Suri, were rejected.

The scrutiny of the nomination papers will continue until December 30, and appeals can be submitted until January 3. Decisions on the appeals will be made by January 10.

The list of candidates will be displayed on January 11, and candidates will have the option to withdraw by January 12.

Electoral symbols will be allotted on January 13, and polling for the general elections will be held on February 8.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here