LHC upholds key candidates’ victories after rejecting pleas challenging results


The Lahore High Court (LHC) has rejected the pleas of several candidates and directed them to approach the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) for redressal of grievances. Among the petitions filed, Shahzad Farooq of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) challenged the victory of PML-N Senior Vice President Maryam Nawaz from NA-119 Lahore. Rehana Dar, another PTI-backed candidate, sought to nullify Khawaja Asif’s victory from NA-71 Sialkot, claiming that the results were changed overnight. Additionally, PTI-backed candidates Salman Akram Raja, Ali Aijaz, and Malik Zaheer Abbas Khokar also contested the results of NA-128, NA-117, and NA-127 respectively. All the petitioners were directed by the LHC to seek resolution of their grievances from the ECP.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here