Allied parties secure speaker and deputy positions in Pakistan’s National Assembly


Following the oath-taking ceremony of more than 300 lawmakers in the National Assembly, PML-N’s Ayaz Sadiq and PPP’s Ghulam Mustafa Shah were elected as the speaker and deputy speaker, respectively. The allied parties comprising PML-N, PPP, PML-Q, MQM-Pakistan, Istehkam-i-Pakistan Party, PML-Zia, National Party, and Balochistan Awami Party supported their joint candidature.

Ayaz Sadiq secured 199 votes against Amir Dogar’s 91, while Ghulam Mustafa Shah received 197 votes compared to Junaid Akbar’s 92. Sadiq emphasized the importance of unity between the government and opposition in his speech as the new speaker.

Meanwhile, PTI-backed lawmakers expressed discontent over their alleged stolen mandate and incomplete representation in the house. Amir Dogar lamented the loss of his party’s NA seats and iconic bat symbol, calling for the return of their mandate. Mahmood Khan Achakzai demanded a resolution against the establishment’s interference in politics.

Junaib Akbar, PTI’s nominee for deputy speaker, emphasized Imran Khan’s leadership and the need for justice. Ahsan Iqbal called for collaborative politics to address the country’s challenges. The NA session witnessed disruptions by PTI lawmakers demanding the allocation of reserved seats for the Sunni Ittehad Council.

The PTI leaders insisted that the house remained incomplete without the representation of all members and urged for the rightful candidates to take their place in the assembly. Omer Ayub stressed the importance of justice and the presence of Imran Khan in the house for fair elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here