2024 Pakistan Elections: Candidates and Key Information


The upcoming general elections in Pakistan scheduled for February 8 are expected to bring some interesting battles in the city of Karachi.

The National Assembly constituency of Lyari (NA-239) in Karachi has always been a point of interest for election observers due to its specific voting trend. The area, mostly populated by blue-collar workers, was considered a safe bastion for the PPP until the 2018 election, when a relatively unknown former political worker of the PPP, Shakoor Shad, won the seat on the PTI ticket.

Despite this election result, Lyari is still considered to be the PPP’s strongest fort in Karachi. The area has elected PPP candidates overwhelmingly in recent municipal elections, but local problems and civic issues such as infrastructure, roads, and drainage have been mostly unaddressed by the party.

The constituency is witnessing interesting duels among various candidates from different parties, including Nabil Gabol of the PPP, Sharjeel Gopalani of the Tehreek-i-Labbaik Pakistan (TLP), and Fazl ur Rehman Niazi of Jamaat-e-Islami (JI).

The election is also featuring candidates from the PTI, MQM-P, PML-N, and independent candidates, contributing to the politically charged atmosphere in the constituency.

Various candidates have highlighted the major issues facing the constituency including corruption, drugs, street crimes, sanitation, and power woes. They have also promised to address these issues if elected.

With opposing parties fielding candidates and making promises to address the issues faced by the constituency, the upcoming election in NA-239 is expected to be closely contested.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here